‘Halo Around The Moon’

IMG_6650

“Bob” shouted my missus as I sat there checking my emails on the mobile. “Bob come and look at the moon. It looks like it’s sitting on a plate”

Now curious; I get myself up from my warm and comfy sofa seat and opening the patio doors a little I peer towards the heavenly night skies. Observing immediately that the moon did indeed look like it was sitting on plate!

Quite a large plate admittedly… but a plate nonetheless.

Hurriedly I dived back indoors and located my camera then stood out in our garden freezing my bits off whilst trying to capture this rare and exciting occurence.

“But what causes this?” I muttered to myself standing in the frosty evening air. ” I think I need to check this one out?”

So after capturing a couple of images I then decided that I should perhaps do a little bit of research?

So hopefully for yours and indeed my own interest I would now like to quote you from an article produced on this very subject by one Melissa Wynn-Elsey; who states:

This phenomenom is believed to occur when a certain type of cloud is present in the atmosphere.

As the old folk rhyme goes: When there is a ring around the moon, rain or snow is coming soon.

Moon halos are caused by tiny ice crystals that have been gathered twenty thousand feet above the ground, as thin, wispy clouds. These clouds are sothin, you might not notice them at night, if it weren’t for their effect on the moonlight. Incoming light rays from the moon are bent, or diffracted, by these ice crystals at an angle of 22 degrees.

This means that in addition to the direct moonlight, you will also see difracted moonlight in a circle 22 degrees away from the moon. This is about the distance of your fist, held at arm’s length.

IMG_6646

Like a rainbow, this halo can even be slightly coloured; red on the inside, and blue on the outside.

“Now I bet you never knew that until now did you huh?” “Oh I see…you actually did?”

“Well whatever!”

“Nobody likes a show off you know!”

One thought on “‘Halo Around The Moon’

Leave a Reply

