‘Colourful Character’

IMG_7781I saw this young woman earlier over by the bus station where I assume she had taken a bus into town to do some shopping.

With her big red hair bright vivid patchwork dress and her red cardigan she really did stand out from the crowd.

It wasn’t the best of days the day I shot this image and so the cardigan was obviously taken along just in case the weather turned.

At first I was quite a distance away from her and over the opposite side of the road. Luckily for me though there was a pedestrian crossing which held her up just long enough for me to cross over and get up ahead of her.

I set myself up and focused the camera lens over towards the entrance to ‘The Vestry’ restaurant and bar here in Chichester. Then just a few minutes later my subject arrived ¬†completely unaware of me standing opposite her.

As she moved towards the middle of the Vestry archway I managed to capture this image.

I wanted the colours to pop and so eventually decided to edit my image using this particular style which for me has really highlighted her choice of outfit.

I always try to keep my eye open for characters who perhaps dress in a more flamboyant manner than most, or who simply seem to have an uncanny knack of wearing items of clothing which never fail but to catch your eye.

To me personally; bright colours bring good sensations to the soul never failing to raise the spirits.

Individual colours of course represent different things; though technically it is not the colours themselves that have meaning; it is that we have culturally assigned meanings for them.

If you want to go take a look at the website whats-your-sign.com you can read up for yourself what each individual colour represents.

For example:

Red is affiliated with the planet Mars and it’s zodiac sign is Aries.

Orange is is affiliated with the planet Mercury and its zodiac sign is Gemini.

Yellow is affiliated with the luminary Sun and its zodiac sign is Leo.

Green is affiliated with the planet Venus and Earth and its zodiac signs are Libra and Taurus.

Blue is affiliated with the planet Jupiter and its zodiac sign is Sagittarius.

Indigo is affiliated with the planet and luminary Uranus and Moon and its zodiac signs are Aquarius and cancer.

Black is affiliated with the planets Saturn and Pluto and its zodiac signs are Capricorn and Scorpio.

White is affiliated with the planets Mercury and Moon and its zodiac sign is Virgo.

So it is particularly apt that during these days of austerity we consider it a treat to see individuals such as this lady in today’s image; whose presence served to add a welcoming vibrant splash of colour into what could only be described as an otherwise relatively bland canvas.

Leave a Reply

